RSS

Working Towards Goal #11 and #12

20 Oct

I spent the day attending a seminar held by PruLife U.K. for invited participants who are ready to take the next steps to becoming a unit manager. The program entitled Step-Up is a 6-month intensive program aimed at preparing the Assistant Unit Managers (AUM) to becoming Unit Managers (UM). There were 13 of us in the group.

I’ve been with Prulife for the past 11 years. I started with them when I was just in my 4th year of college back in 2000. My reason for joining was merely to know more about the finance industry, knowing that the insurance companies are able to shell out more products at a shorter span of time versus the banks. I also wanted to develop my selling skills and boost my self-confidence. Needless to say, I was able to accomplish all those.

The company and the industry, for that matter, have been very kind to me. It afforded me the financial independence. I didn’t need to be stuck in a job I didn’t like. At an early age, I could afford to buy whatever I want. I was able to build up my savings nest and I earned my first million with the industry. It provided me the opportunities to travel for free. If not for being pregnant, I would have traveled to Malaysia and Shanghai this year. I have also qualified for the Asian Cruise (which I’m not taking again) embarking this November. As part of my 12 before 2012 goal, I am targeting to qualify for the free Holy Land tour trip.

Aside from the monetary rewards, this career or business is also very emotionally fulfilling. A participant in the Step-up program narrated today how a client of hers (who got a policy last year) who is suffering from a kidney disease called her an “angel” for being able to provide monetary assistance to be used for his hospitalization and/or cure. The Philippines has one of the most number of under-insured people. Our hospitalization expenses are out-of-the-pocket expenses (expenses that are unplanned and unprepared for).

Last year was a crossroad for me being in the industry for 10 years already. It was either I “retire” or I “promote” myself. I decided on the latter. I wanted to share the experiences and the lifestyle I got from the business to others. I wanted to be able to inspire and teach others. So, I decided to become an AUM. This year, my goal was to build my team and “promote” myself to the UM position. I’m looking for people who are interested and willing to learn. I’m looking for people who has the drive to succeed and who has aspirations in life. If you think you have these qualifications, feel free to drop me a comment (w/your contact numbers) so we can talk and I can discuss this exciting and fulfilling career with you.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 20, 2011 in Business, Finances

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
