RSS

Simple Eats: Gustare

11 Dec

Tucked in the corner of W Hotel at Fort is a baking kitchen owned by Ginny Reyes, Gustare. Ginny Reyes just recently launched her cake book entitled The Cake Station. Photos were taken by renowned photographer Neil Oshima. Book is definitely world class. When I saw a copy at Fully Booked, I was amazed and surprised to find out that it was made by a Filipino.

My brother and I were scheduled to meet at Gustare last Friday. When I entered, I was surprised to find a long single wooden table laid out with racks and refrigerators surrounding it. Since my brother wasn’t there yet, I decided to wait outside and saw a friend of mine who is working with Ginny on another endeavor, Tully’s. We were then introduced. Chatted for a good 30minutes before my brother arrived.

The restaurant or food service industry is not something new to me since my dad owns a restaurant but there’s a huge difference between managing a restaurant and being the actual chef / baker and owning your business. The passion and the art you put in is different. It’s not just about dthe dollar and cents or about the bottom line. My brother and I chatted with Ginny over her impossible Cake and New York Cheesecake.

Impossible

I think Impossible cake should have been called Incredible cake instead. I was told the recipe is in her book. It was a combination of Leche Flan on top and very moist chocolate cake at the bottom.

Would go back to try her Strawberry Pavlova next!

What is your idea of a perfect dessert? Are you the fruity type? Chocolate-y? What would you like to have in your dessert?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 11, 2011 in Shop, Simple Eats

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Simple Eats: Gustare

  1. Sab

    September 26, 2012 at 12:29 AM

    Hi the owner of Gustare is Ginny DE GUZMAN and the name of her baking book is Bake Me A Cake! 🙂

     
    • Simple Bundles of Joy

      September 27, 2012 at 10:02 AM

      Thanks Sab! 🙂 I’ve actually bought a lot of her books for Christmas gifts last year! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
